face to face has a new album on the way. Boasting 10 completely reworked classics, ‘Hold Fast (Acoustic Sessions)‘ will hit the streets on July 27th via Fat Wreck.

The band told Brooklyn Vegan;
During last year’s Econo-Live tour, we included a VIP package for the first time ever,” [frontman Trever Keith] begins. “I wanted to do something more than just signing autographs or taking pictures, so we added an acoustic set every night before the show. What came out of that experience was this realization that our songs, when stripped down, had a really cool identity that didn’t exist the way that we play them as a full band, punk-rock style. We started to notice this connection with the people who were watching, and we started thinking, ‘Maybe we should record this.’” So Keith and his band—longtime bassist Scott Shiflett, drummer Danny Thompson and guitarist Dennis Hill—did just that, booking a studio during an off-day on tour to capture this raw, stripped-down snapshot of their catalog. From there, the band approached Fat about releasing the album, but even though the label was supportive of the project, Keith himself wasn’t happy with the result: He decided to scrap the original sessions and have the band hit the studio once more, this time with more songs and refined arrangements that include guest musicians (including accomplished pedal-steel player Gary Brandin and Dirty Heads percussionist Jon Olazabal) and unique instrumentation such as mandolin, piano and harmonium.

The first two tracks lifted from the release are the much loved classic ‘Disconnected‘, as well as ‘Keep Your Chin Up‘ from their most recent album ‘Protection‘. Check out the new acoustic takes on those number below.


face to face

1: All For Nothing
2: Disconnected
3: Shame on Me
4: Keep Your Chin Up
5: Velocity
6: AOK
7: Don’t Turn Away
8: Blind
9: Ordinary
10: Bill of Goods