Nearly three years since the release of ‘No Closer To Heaven‘, The Wonder Years recently announced the release of their forthcoming LP ‘Sister Cities‘.

Recorded at Sunset Sound with Joe Chiccarelli (The Strokes, Manchester Orchestra, The Shins) and Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, Jimmy Eat World), ‘Sister Cities‘, out April 6th, is an album about distance, connectivity and the way humanity towers above its boundaries.

The latest taste of the album comes in the form of stream for the track ‘Pyramids Of Salt‘.

Pyramids of Salt is a song about knowing there’s nothing you can do. It centers around the universal feeling of being powerless, of knowing that no matter how much you love someone, that a day is going to come when you can’t heal them, where you can’t keep them safe.

Listen to the song below.


Earlier, the band released a video clip for the title track ‘Sister Cities‘.


Vocalist Dan Campbell commented on the inspiration behind ‘Sister Cities‘:

It started with journals and photos. We started by documenting. We didn’t know where it would go or if it would go anywhere at all but we wrote it all down. We took photos of everything. And then when it came to put it all together, we had this catalog of how we felt and what it looked like and sounded like and we built from there. Figuring out what the moments were that stayed with me the most. When did I feel most connected to the people around me and why? What did being in this place during this moment teach me? It was a difficult year personally and globally and we experienced that through this lens of being everywhere but home, kind of floating through places and seeing how being there altered our perspective.

The Wonder Years

1. Raining in Kyoto
2. Pyramids of Salt
3. It Must Get Lonely
4. Sister Cities
5. Flowers Where Your Face Should Be
6. Heaven’s Gate (Sad & Sober)
7. We Look Like Lightning
8. The Ghosts of Right Now
9. When the Blue Finally Came
10. The Orange Grove
11. The Ocean Grew Hands to Hold Me


Photo by Jonathan Weiner