After a sold out single launch in Sydney last month, psych-rock luminaries Stonefield have revealed the title track from their forthcoming third studio LP.

Far From Earth‘ is set for release Friday 13th April on Flightless Records via Inertia Music.

Far From Earth‘ is the latest addition to an extensive catalogue that the four Findlay sisters have been officially releasing since 2010, but a catalogue they have been building since the days when they were only as tall as the strange stone formations that surround their hometown in Australia’s rural south-east. For over a decade, the band have seemingly existed within their own stellar nebula; unaffected by fleeting modern musical trends, their sound is a homage to the prog, metal and psych powerhouses of the 70s whilst remaining completely their own.

Their second full-length LP ‘As Above, So Below‘ (2016) firmly established Stonefield as one of the key players in the current wave of Australian psych-rock, but ‘Far From Earth‘ sees the band’s sound enter a whole new spectrum. With Black Mountain’s Stephen McBean at the production helm, first single and album opener ‘Delusion‘ demonstrates a shift from the hardened psych pop of earlier records toward more prog and heavy metal. The title track ‘Far From Earth‘ extrapolates on this, as a bass drum pulses between blurry synth lines and circular guitar riffs.

Give both of those tracks a listen below.


The announce of the new album sees Stonefield heading to LA for a residency at the renowned Bootleg Theatre in April, before taking them to Austin for Levitation Festival.

Australian dates are no doubt in the works and will be revealed soon. You can pre-order the album now on Vinyl [Here] or digitally on Bandcamp [Here].


1. Delusion
2. Far From Earth
3. In The Eve
4. Visions
5. Together
6. Broken Stone
7. Through The Storm
8. In My Head
9. Sleepyhead
10. Celestial Spaces