The Round-upWednesday November 22nd, 2017

Today we have new music from Born Ruffians, a new album coming from Ladyshark, a listen to the new HiGH album, new music from Arms & Hearts and a video clip from the new album from The Plot In You.


Hypergiant release new album and video clip
Corrosion Of Conformity discuss their return and new album
Marky Ramone’s Blitzkrieg around Australia this week
Knuckle Puck and ROAM announce Aus tour supports

(22) Miss May I + Sylar + Justice For The Damned + Below Oceans @ Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle
(22) Public Liability + Cash + Face Face @ The Tote, Collingwood
(22) The Bennies + The Sugarcanes + The Cutaways @ Karova Lounge, Bendigo
(22) Perturbator + Tessel + Somnium Nox @ The Factory Theatre, Marrickville
(22) Marky Ramone @ The Triffid, Brisbane
(22) KB Theory + Empanic + Nathan Melvin-Tong, Wandering Blind @ The Brightside, Fortitude Valley

|| View the full Gig Guide || Submit an upcoming gig ||

News Bits & Pieces

New Orleans punk rock power trio HiGH have just released a full-length record titled ‘Evil Gene‘ via Los Angeles based indie label, Wiretap Records.

The album was produced/engineered by James Whitten (PEARS, Thou, Donovan Wolfington, I’m Fine, Streetlight Manifesto) at Hightower Recordings in NOLA. Physical copies can be ordered [Here].

Most recently seen at Fest 16, HiGH formed in 2013 and quickly gained a following with fans of their fuzzed out, melodic rock n roll. Their first full length, ‘Bummer Burner‘ was independently released in 2015.

Listen to the new album now below.

Nashville, punk trio Ladyshark will release their 11 track debut album ‘Lovesick‘ on Thursday 30th November.

The album is self-written, recorded and produced through Amityville Records, a DIY studio in East Nashville.

The record is about being in love in various stages and situations. Whether love’s making you sick versus driving you wild. Or maybe you’re thinking about having kids or what it might mean to have kids. Sometimes you’re just struggling to make ends meet. There’s some self-reflection and identification with being an outsider who doesn’t live up to all society’s expectations. But that’s ok! Lovesick is a documentation of growth curves that happen following a long-term relationship coming to an end and starting out again in the dating scene with a couple of throwbacks to the new president of the USA.

Listen to the single ‘Hangin’ Out For Someone Else’ below.

The Plot in You are set to release their new album, ‘Dispose‘, on February 16th via Fearless Records / Caroline Australia.

With the new album, the Ohio band are ready to undertake a new journey with a fresh vision, taking a collective step forward which will showcase the group’s eclectic style and creative flair. Produced by Drew Fulk (Motionless In White, I Prevail, Crown The Empire), the 10-track album explores the lasting effects of a toxic relationship, and serves as the band’s most personal record to date.

Dispose is our proudest release so far, it’s almost a complete restart on the band. The music has continued to naturally evolve in the way that we have wanted it to for a long time and we have a complete team at Fearless helping to roll it out which has been refreshing.

A new video clip for the single ‘Not Just Breathing‘ can be seen below.

Born Ruffians will release their new studio album ‘Uncle, Duke & The Chief‘ on February 16th on Paper Bag Records.

The nine-track album was produced by Richard Swift (Foxygen, Tennis, Nathaniel Rateliff).

Watch the new video for the single ‘Forget Me‘ below. It is the second part of a video series directed by Leah Fay Goldstein and Peter Dreimanis of July Talk, and features the band’s Luke Lalonde who recently made his acting debut alongside Tim Heidecker in the feature film Sundowners.

Watch part one, ‘Love Too Soon‘ [Here] if you missed it earlier. Watch the new installment below.

Arms & Hearts released a two-track digital EP, ‘Fortitude‘ via Real Ghost Records on Monday.

Now comes a video clip for the track ‘Fortitude‘ which can be seen below.

Having recently released ‘Too Much Sleep, Not Enough Dreams‘ through Under The Bridge Records, a four track E.P produced by ex Bad Idea’s Sam Cook, Arms & Hearts has toured extensively and relentlessly over the past three years, gaining support slots with the likes of Jared Hart, Skinny lister, Northcote, Listener, Pinegrove, Rob Lynch, This Wild Life, Tim Kasher, Ben Marwood, Beans On Toast, Apologies I Have None and Ducking Punches.

Best described as the aptly named heart felt venture of Steve Millar. While influences of The Gaslight Anthem and Chuck Ragan are apparent, it’s his passion for his songs that really come out strong, committing to a full ‘heart on your sleeve’ musical exploration.

Check out ‘Fortitude‘ below.


Today’s The Round-up is sponsored by Menulog – What do you feel like? Sort out dinner online now
Note: A small cut from anything you order goes towards helping keep our website costs covered so we can keep bringing you news. Using an adblocker? We don’t blame you, but please consider disabling it for this site, you might not be aware, but simply viewing ads can help us keep on top of running costs. We try to not annoy you too much… Promise!