JM Lansdowne has released his new album ‘Based On A Dime Novel‘ via Paper + Plastick Records.

JM is the real deal, It doesn’t matter if it’s when he is telling you about heartbreak, or when he is singing about the swirl going around in his head and chest; you just believe it. Vocals explaining his truths and that raw bite sometimes letting up into a smooth melody.

Cautiously on the rise from sculptured steam of the underground, JM Lansdowne shines a light and returns with a mystical twist for back-to-back releases of January 2017’s digital EP titled ‘Bare Bones‘ and his 5th full-length album, ‘Based on a Dime Novel‘.

Give the album a listen below.


Notorious for his furnished home-demo style recordings, Lansdowne takes a deeper breath – With his heart on his sleeve and nothing to lose, JM unleashes thought-provoking pages of journal entries and sings them for the whole world to hear.

In 2014, JM Lansdowne was taken under the wing of Vinnie Fiorello, which birthed the opportunity to reside on the Paper + Plastick Records roster alongside Chad Price, John Moreland, and Mike Herrera’s Tumbledown.

Lansdowne’s third full-length ‘The Whispertone Sessions‘ made its first appearance on the label’s website, which was later pressed on CD. JML spends a lot of his life on the road and has found himself sharing intimate venues with acts such as American Aquarium, Eisley, Shiny Toy Guns, Seth Robinson (Nowhere Fast), Pasadena, JT Woodruff (Hawthorne Heights) – just to name a few.

2015 brought the release of his deluxe EP entitled ‘June Letters‘, which was released via She Says / Paper + Plastick Records. The EP also includes a cameo by Russ Rankin of Good Riddance. A limited pressing of Lansdowne’s nostalgic ‘Five Years‘ LP was released by Autumn + Colour Records.

Late Summer 2016, Lansdowne teamed up with Omar Zehery (Hit The Lights) to begin brainstorming and developing pre-production stages for a full-length release that has no plans to release as of yet.

2016 was a rather argumentative year for me. I ended up writing two full-length records in a matter of months and just kept writing. I also did a lot of waiting, so between patience and a change of course, I began going over what I had and decided it was time for something new.

Overcoming life-altering changes and struggles with a drug habit, JM Lansdowne presses on with his new journey, and new releases; well-crafted and garnished honestly.

Watch a live video for the track ‘Amy Avenue‘ below.

JM Lansdowne

1. Singin’ Room
2. Wildfire
3. Boxcar
4. Hotel Valerie
5. Red Letters
6. Conditions
7. Paper Flame
8. Amy Avenue
9. Prizefighter
10. 100,000 Reasons


Want more news? The Round-up is our daily news wrap which is posted at 4:30pm each weekday with a summary of the day’s news, gig, ticket, release reminders, as well as additional shorter news pieces. Check it out [Here].
Want the news delivered to your inbox instead? Sign up for our free weekly e-mail newsletter. You’ll get a wrap of the weeks news, heaps of additional news that we can’t fit on site, reminders of tours and releases coming up, exclusive subscriber competitions and more delivered to your inbox on a Friday morning. Simply head [Here] to sign up / view a sample newsletter.